The Why Libraries? Blog

Thoughts about libraries.

Libraries? Do They Still Have Those???

leave a comment »

Just about two weeks ago it happened again.  I was having dinner with a friend of a friend and her daughter, when the daughter, in response to discovering I was a librarian said something to the effect of, “It’s too bad nobody uses libraries anymore.”  She went on to say, “I LOVE libraries!  I used to go all the time when I was little,” as her mother nodded in agreement across the table, “but now nobody takes their children to the library.  The kids are all hooked on TV and video games.”

When I was able to get a word in edgewise in this discussion with my enthusiastic young dining companion, who lives in Miami, I did say, “I’ll bet the Miami Public Library has programs for children.”  Again, her mother nodded her assent to this idea as daughter quickly sped ahead to another subject.

I was curious to see if my assertion was correct.  It seemed impossible that it wouldn’t be, but I often find myself blindsided by my own assumptions, so I did a quick search on the web and sure enough, the Miami-Dade Public Library web site offers resources for children both at the branches and online.  A quick check of the events scheduled for the coming week, organized by branch, showed “Storytime” events at all the branches I clicked on.  Yet the perception of my voluble new friend was that such things no longer happened.  Is perception reality?  If a story hour happens when you’re not in the library, does it make a sound?

In response to these comments and many others like them I’ve heard over the years, I’ve finally decided to take myself up on a threat I’ve been making for quite some time now.  I’ve created a blog to bloviate about libraries and how great I think they are.  Another objective of the site is to cover the interesting and unusual libraries of the New York area; their collections, services, events quirks and, of course, their librarians.  I’m making no promises on the secondary goal, but I’m setting a minimum of one post per week for observations, opinions and the like.

Thank you in advance to any and all who come across this blog and take a few minutes to read some of it.

Written by bibliothecario

April 10, 2009 at 9:42 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

